among the things I don’t enjoy–

mowingthelawn

With Greg being in Texas, I figured I might try and mow the lawn.  And by “lawn,” I mean weeds.  Hey, it’s a rental!  But, in all seriousness, the “lawn” was becoming entirely unmanageable–and also becoming what I call “snake haven.”  Note: I am terrified of snakes (even little ones), and no, as a veterinarian, I will never be interested in taking care of exotic animals.  I like my animals with some nice fur on them.

So it took me a good 10 minutes to actually figure out how to turn on the lawn mower (thanks, UC Berkeley!) since I had quite literally, never mowed a lawn before today.  I knew it involved something with “yanking on something and the motor was just supposed to start” and it only took about 40 unsuccessful tries to figure out that I had to also hold down one of the quick-release (is that the name for it?  that’s what I’m calling it) handle to actually start the motor.  All of my unsuccessful yanking (there’s just gotta be another way!) only caused my arm to get more sore and me to just get more frustrated.  Finally, success!

And doesn’t it look beautiful?  Yeah, I know.  It’s not the most beautiful backyard lawn.  But, now at least I can see the snakes and other creatures straight away, and I’ve cleared the path to my “garden.”

So far, I’ve planted watermelon, tomatoes, corn, heirloom lettuce, japanese eggplant, and broccoli.

We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

