Estes Park Wool Market

Well, it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted, but that’s only because I’ve been pretty busy, and busy is a GREAT thing!  🙂  

Two weekends ago, I volunteered at the Estes Park Wool Market (particularly with the sheep) with my aunt’s good friend Curtis and Dr. Ruehlman and I had a blast!  I got to learn so, so, so much about sheep: Shetland, Jacob, Navajo Churro, Corriedale, Cotswold, Leicester, and more!  

Some even had really exceptional hair…

Image

And I learned that the Jacob Sheep could have up to 6 horns…and they just came out of their little skulls any which way they felt like:

Image

I definitely learned a lot this weekend about all of the different wool breeds, and I had a lot of fun, announcing for the show and recording the placings of the sheep competitors.  This is sort of a look into what my weekend looked like:

Image

And, I definitely didn’t forget to take a look at some of the other animals at this wool show (there were goats, alpacas, rabbits, and more!)–particularly at their really fancy hairstyles:

Image

 

I can’t wait until one day that I get to have a farm…I will most definitely be purchasing an alpaca!  They can go anywhere from $400 (the cheapest I saw at the show), to what I’ve heard is $10,000 and I’m sure there are some that are more expensive, if their wool is particularly fancy.  

There was also a Lamb Rib food booth at the show…I felt suuuuuuuuper guilty wanting to eat Lamb after working with all of the sheep for the past 3 days–but, sheep that are bred for wool are different from sheep that are bred for meat…so, I figured that with a clear conscience I could eat a rack of lamb:

Image

 

It was really tasty.  The sheep *did* keep looking at me and “baa-ing” in the tent while I was eating their distant relatives, but it was so delicious it didn’t really matter.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

