Food Network Strawberry Rhubarb Shortcake

Anyone that knows me, knows that I love love love all things related to the Food Network!  So when they posted a picture of this cake on Instagram, I knew what I had to make for dessert for Suzie’s BBQ.

I’ve never used or tried rhubarb before (boy, is it sour!) but once cooked down and after adding a bunch of sugar to it and strawberries, it made for a GREAT filling for the shortcake.  I played around with adjusting some of the recipe too, for high altitude cooking.  I’m still learning how to bake better at 5,000 ft., and each time is a learning experience!

The recipe for the shortcake is here.

I’d say, I did pretty good!  I added extra whipped cream, because who doesn’t want more whipped cream? 🙂

strawberryshortcake

Leave a Reply

