tolerance for adversity

imltracebib

 

Well, it’s the night before the big race all I can think about is how truly grateful I am and how thankful I am to be able to compete at Ironman Lake Tahoe tomorrow for the Ironman Foundation Newton Running Ambassador Triathlon Team. I have been blessed with meeting these really fantastic teammates who really embody the #triteamforgood and #kokua message and have been a part of my journey this year.

I wanted to have a special shout-out to those of you who have contributed to my fundraiser and have been part of the Ironman Foundation and getting me to Ironman Lake Tahoe as well.  Your funds have contributed specifically to the Keep Tahoe Blue organization…preserving our natural spaces is something I am particularly passionate about, and I appreciate you all in supporting this!

I have the best friends in the world.  To all of you who have sent the text messages, facebook messages, emails, calls, they are all so, so, so appreciated.  Knowing that I have all of you backing me, supporting me–it is going to give me that extra push tomorrow on the bike and during the rough patches so I can keep moving.

If there is one thing that I have learned in life (and particularly from doing NOLS), is that you must have tolerance for adversity.

The weather has been fluctuating quite a bit here, and it even snowed today here in Tahoe (cold, rainy, snowy weather the day before the race–yikes, right?)…BUT…I know that even though some of the elements may be challenging tomorrow, or if there are any changes with the race with the course, start times, or whatnot, it will be OK.   It’s OK because it has to be OK.  I am going into tomorrow feeling 100% positive about the day tomorrow.  Sure, I’m worried and sure, I’m nervous.  But I have full faith that the Ironman staff and the volunteers are going to take care of us tomorrow and we will have the safest race out there.  I’ve planned ahead and prepared and will be equipped tomorrow with the warmest of clothes, with a good amount of food to keep fueling while I’m riding and trying to keep my body warm at the same time.  I may not set a PR and I might have some slow transition times while trying to warm up, but that’s OK.  I will have tolerance for adversity, I’ll accept whatever gets thrown at me tomorrow, and I will expect that things will come up that I didn’t expect.  That’s natural, and that’s life.

When I look at my life, there are a LOT of things that have happened in my life that didn’t go “according to plan.”  And…I think that my life turned out just fine.  🙂  So there, Tahoe!  Give me snow, give me rain, give me whatever you’ve got it.  I can handle it.  We can handle it.  And at the end of the day, we will all get to say to ourselves…YOU ARE AN IRONMAN!

To my coach John Dahlz, you are the best coach a girl could ever ask for!  Thank you for being a part of my Ironman journey this second time around, for taking the time to write me fantastic training plans, for helping me to change course when I’ve needed to, and for always being encouraging and for always having faith in me–and much more faith in me than I often have in myself!  Thank you for always believing in me.

To my wonderful friends and family–you are all amazing and have given me so much encouragement this past year.  To those of you who even go as far as to send me little care packages (Popo!), you all make me feel like a million bucks!

shaggypresent

To those of you who have made the big schlep out here to Tahoe to be stuck all day long trying to follow me and track me, you, too, are so, so amazing.  There will be no one in the world that I will want to see more during the day than your faces at the finish line.  Best cheering squad ever!!!

groupshotimlt

To my teammates, for all of you racing tomorrow, I hope that you have a race that you’re proud of–and accomplish all of your goals, big and small, that you came to do.  For those of you on the team who are with us in spirit, your thoughts, facebook messages, dancegrams–everything has really been so encouraging to all of us this weekend–thanks for sending your energy to all of us…we’ll certainly need it!

Thanks again to each and every one of you for all of your support.  Peace, love, kokua, and see you at the finish line! 😀

christikokua

 

 

 

One thought on “tolerance for adversity

Leave a Reply

